top of page

Sonic Terrains in Latinx Art / Vincent Price Art Museum

Sonic Terrains in Latinx Art

Vincent Price Art Museum

April 30, 2022 – July 30, 2022

Sonic Terrains in Latinx Art is a major exhibition of Latinx sound practices, extending from the early avant-gardism of sound art to new interdisciplinary art forms. This exhibition, which features an intergenerational roster of 30 artists and collectives, aims to establish new directions in the field of Latinx art history by foregrounding the conceptual and experimental nature of Latinx sound practitioners.

Artists in the exhibition utilize sound in dynamic and varied outputs, including visual art, performance, spoken word, music, pirate radio, public protest, and social practice. Works within the exhibition examine the medium and structure of diverse sonic forms, as well as address the role of sound in processes of racialization, resistance, identity formation, cultural belonging, and collective healing. Taken together, these artists and artworks underscore the function and malleability of sound as an instrument for creative expression and political intervention.

Artists and collectives in the exhibition include Allora & Calzadilla, AMBOS (Art Made Between Opposite Sides), Tania Candiani, Autumn Chacon, Raven Chacon, Cog•nate Collective (Misael Diaz and Amy Sanchez Arteaga), Sofía Córdova, Carmina Escobar, Marvin Fabien, Guillermo Galindo, Gary Garay, Guillermo Gómez-Peña, María Elena González, Rubén Funkahuatl Guevara, Martine Gutierrez, Marcus Kuiland-Nazario, Los Jaichackers (Julio Cesar Morales and Eamon Ore-Giron), Raphael Montañez Ortiz, MUXXXE, Pauline Oliveros, Gala Porras-Kim, San Cha, Luz María Sánchez, Jimena Sarno, Sonic Insurgency Research Group (Josh Rios, Anthony Romero, and Matt Joynt), Nyugen E. Smith, Penelope Uribe-Abee, Gerardo Velázquez, Dorian Wood, and XUXA SANTAMARIA (Sofía Córdova and Matthew Gonzalez Kirkland).

The exhibition is curated by Javier Arellano Vences, Pilar Tompkins Rivas, and Joseph Daniel Valencia.


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page